Saturday, November 19, 2016

Axe Crazy-Ride The Night

No Remorse Records

Named after the classic 1982 single from N.W.O.B.H.M. band Jaguar, Axe Crazy is a up-and-coming traditional heavy metal band that hails from Lędziny, Poland and is currently fronted by lead singer Michael Skotnicki. Bass player Daniel Czupryn (ex-Snake's Head) and original founding members Adrian Bigos (guitar, vocals), Robson Bigos (guitar, vocals), and Andrzej Heczko (drums) round things out this five-piece band which lists the likes of Iron Maiden, Judas Priest, Helloween, Running Wild, and Dio as it's primary sources of inspiration. Founded on January 1st, 2010, Axe Crazy made it's studio debut in 2014 with the release of the 4-track EP, "Angry Machines", and then went on to appear on two different compilations, "Trveheim Vol. 1." and "True Metal Lives III - The Hard Road To Hell". The ten-song "Ride The Night" is Axe Crazy's first full-length recording and it is reportedly due out on December 16th. Starting with the all-too- brief "March of the Survivors", Axe Crazy's full-length debut might just draw from some familiar sources, but thanks to the band's youthful enthusiasm and keen ability to craft extremely catchy material it ends up being a moot point! Chock full of classic heavy metal riffs, over-the-top leads, and flat-out blessed by a vocalist that could have been time-snatched out of the eighties' metal scene(!), Axe Crazy is a hell of a band that has proved more than worthy of it's cool moniker!  The full-length album, "Ride The Night", is everything you could hope for out of a debut: great material, epic performances, and a subtle production job that perfectly captures the time period that it is trying to emulate! Honestly, it is because of bands like Axe Crazy that I keep this blog up and running. This kind of sincere and honest heavy metal is too good to keep to myself!! Axe Crazy is a adventure in heavy metal history and we are it's welcomed students!    

Labels: , , , ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home