Friday, September 30, 2011

Michael Schenker-Temple of rock


Legendary guitarist Michael Schenker decided to put aside the MSG for this time and just go by his name. Schenker has been hot and cold on albums over the past say ten years, but there is no denying his talent from his many past successes. Fortunately Temple of rock is very much a return to form and Schenker certainly draws on the type of songs that have worked so well for him in the past. This is melodic hard rock that's big on melodies and most of the tracks are quite focused. This was one of those albums where I play it once and right away it clicks. The writing isn't anything new, but it's very tight. I have heard some differing views on the vocals of Michael Voss. Count me in the positive group because I think he is a fine fit for this style. The best part of this album and really makes it is not that Schenker just rips it up (he does), but rather he shows restraint when needed as well. This is very and album that relies on the strength of all of the songs and all of the musicians. I am sure this was Schenker's choice to go that route and the result is one of the best albums in years that he has been involved with. There are ton of guests on this album and normally I get nervous when an artist does that because it makes me think they don't confidence in themselves to sell this album so they added some names just sell a few more units. However that is not the case here (I hope) because Schenker his band certainly did enough on their own to create a very likable album. For those who want to know who the guests are on this disc I listed them below the band line-up.

Michael Schenker - Guitars
Michael Voss (Mad Max, Casanova) - Vocals
Herman Rarebell (ex Scorpions) - Drums
Pete Way (ex UFO) - Bass
Wayne Findlay (MSG) - Keyboards

Rudolf Schenker (Scorpions) - Guitar
William Shatner (Captain Kirk from Star Trek) - Intro Vocals
Leslie West - Guitar
Doogie White - Vocals
Robin McAuley - Vocals
Don Airey - Keyboards
Chris Glenn (ex MSG) - Bass
Neil Murray (ex Whitesnake) - Bass
Paul Raymond – UFO (ex MSG)
Simon Phillips - Drums
Carmine Appice - Drums
Chris Slade (ex AC/DC) - Drums

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home